Testing my newly learned Trackback skills…

So here I am…trying to see if I’ve figured out this whole trackback mystery.  My critique group has been trying to build our platforms…HOLY COW is there a lot to learn.

We’ve read books and articles on How to and the Do’s and Dont’s of platforming.  I highly recommend Kristen Lamb’s books We Are Not Alone—The Writer’s Guide to Social Media and Are You There, Blog? It’s Me, Writer!!! 

We’re taking a class on how to build our platforms (thank you Velda Brotherton and the NWA Writers Group!!)

1. Facebook Author page & invite the world to like us… check

2. Tweet … check

3. Set up blog here on WordPress…check

Now if one of us can figure out how to work the magical trackback we’ll be on to our next challenge…WRITING the stories and books!!

After trying for over a week to master trackbacks…HA…who am I kidding …we’d be thrilled if one of us could get it to work even once.

So I decided to contact the platform building goddess herself Kristen Lamb.  It was like getting a wish granted by the genie in the magic lamp…I asked and POOF… I had my answer (only without the big puff of smoke).  THANK YOU!! 🙂

I’m going to test this on one of Kristen Lamb’s latest blogs that I learned a lot from.

4 Writing Crutches that Insult the Reader’s Intelligence

Fingers crossed…sweat beading up on brow…We’ll soon see if I have been able to tackle trackbacks.

About Joy Keeney

Joy Keeney enjoys the sound of words swirling from her pencil to the blank pages below. She has the passion for creating stories that send chills down the reader’s spines and those that touch their hearts. Her first short story Legend of Dark Mountain was published by High Hill Press in the anthology – Bigfoot Confidential – Finally the Truth Revealed in 2012. Joy contributed dozens of featured articles to a local online magazine between 2011-2013. Joy is an award winning author who is currently a full-time student working on a BA in Creative Writing at SNHU and writing her first novel.
This entry was posted in Building Platform and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Testing my newly learned Trackback skills…

  1. Hey. You’re ahead of me. I don’t even know what a trackback is. Darn. I almost ended that last sentence with an exclamation point.

    • Staci Troilo says:

      Wait… confusion abounds. When I got an email with your comment, there was an excerpt/trackback in it. Are you aware you did that? Are you just playing with us on this one? Don’t hold out on us… I can’t take the stress.

Leave a comment