Writers Block anyone??

Writers…

Do you ever find yourself sitting at your computer staring at the blank screen for what seems like hours?

Have you ever gotten the urge to start at bonfire using your trusty notebook to get it started?     “S’mores anyone?”

Do you find yourself humming Goyte and making up your own words?
“You’re just some story that I used to know.”

Have you ever told your critique group the dog ate my WIP because you don’t have anything new written?
“Hey girls…guess what?”

If you answered yes to any of these questions you might be among the millions of writers who suffer from what is commonly known as Writers Block.

This past weekend I was able to answer yes to 3 out of 4…Yikes!!
I have two short stories that I’ve been working on and instead of getting words down on paper (yes…I write my stories instead of typing them) I found myself in a stand off with both of them. I had nothing…not a sentence not a word…nothing.

Before going off the deep end and doing something crazy…like starting a bonfire even though we’re under a burn ban not to mention over 100 degree weather I calmed down …took a deep breathe and sent out an S O S.  I sent a text S O S (since she lives all the way in dang ole Texas.)   to my bestie and fellow writer… It went a little like this…

Me: Ugggh…I’m building a bonfire with all my writing stuff.
BFF: Why?
Me: I’m going to pick up a new hobby… taxidermy or maybe Hillbilly hand fishing.
BFF: ICK!!! What are you stuck on? (She knows me so well!!)
Me: Everything, I have 2 stories that are just stuck…axel deep in a pit of brain goo!
BFF: Want to send something to read? (she knows what I need)
Me: You’re awesome… any suggestions are welcome including but not limited to …”they’re awesome” or “burn them quickly and take up yodeling.”

I’m happy to report yodeling is NOT in my future (whew) My BFF made a couple suggestions and reminded me my Grammar still needs work(that’s an ongoing battle) However on the bright side she liked both stories and not just because she is my bestie.
I have the sinking feeling I was the cause of my case of writers block…AGAIN. Mainly because I know exactly how I want both stories to go…I have them in my head all swirling around together playing out like a double feature …unfortunately they are playing the same time and getting all mixed up.  Then I start questioning myself and this is when frustration kicks in and writers block happens.  I doubt myself and my ability to write all together.

I don’t know how everyone else deals with it but I’ve discovered all I need is good swift kick in the seat to get my jump started again.  I’m lucky enough to have an awesome support system….my bestie/SS (Tina) is only s text or phone call away …the critique girls (Rhonda & Staci) are always there …not just for our Tuesday Hastings day but anytime I need them and I’m there when they need me…they ROCK.  Several other non writing friends that are always there to tell me to stop doubting and keep writing.  So…I pick myself up, dust myself off  and I get back to writing because… I am a writer!!  Without these people I wouldn’t be where I am today…Thank you!!!

If you have a friend of loved one that is an aspiring writer or even a published writer…let them know you are behind them.

To all my writing peeps….KEEP WRITING!!!

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in Writers Block and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writers Block anyone??

  1. Staci Troilo says:

    Glad I could help. Today I felt like you did over the weekend. Rhonda gave me a stern talking-to. Good thing we’re under a burn ban!

  2. Terrific post, Joy. Honest, funny AND informative. The only cure I’ve ever found for writer’s block is to sit my butt in a chair and write. If that doesn’t work, I write some more. In the end, all the ‘false starts’ become part of the story. Linda Apple calls what you describe The Evil Editor in your head. I think all writers have to be like Luke Skywalker when he blows up the death star. Trust the force. Ha! And I don’t even write Science Fiction.

    • Joy Keeney says:

      Glad you enjoyed the post. Perhaps I will invest in a light saber pen so that I can defend myself as I write…LoL Thank you for the comment 🙂 now off to sit and write!!

  3. Staci Troilo says:

    I don’t think it was necessarily any one thing that got to me. It was a combination of (hopefully) innocent comments combined with too much platform building and too little writing that futzed with my head. You and Rhonda (and the giggles) have been great. Now I just need to do what every writer needs to do to get over writer’s block – WRITE!

Leave a Reply

