Day 24 Blog Flash 2012 In the Woods

#BlogFlash2012: Day Twenty Four – In the Woods

I’m sharing a clip from a story I just finished for a contest. Sorry it’s a bit over the word count.

Silver Springs Gazette: Tuesday, September 20, 1955 

 Five-year-old Elizabeth Wilson was found safe early this morning near her family’s summer cabin after spending three days lost in the dense forest at the base of Dark Mountain.  Other than a few scrapes and scratches, she was in perfect health. She was last seen chasing fireflies with her cousins at the edge of the property just before dark on Friday. Hundreds of rescuers and volunteers combed the woods looking for the child. The girl says that it was a big hairy man who finally helped return her to her family.

Authorities had previously questioned suspected moonshiner Robert Lester, who lives in a remote area near the base of the mountain. He said he had not seen the girl. He was questioned again after her return.  Lester stated that he had nothing to do with her disappearance or return. When asked about a big hairy man, Lester said, “The only hairy man I seen ‘round here was my brother Jacob.” 

Doctors say it was a miracle she was found alive, let alone in good health, after having gone without food and water for so long, especially given the recent near freezing nighttime temperatures and the rugged terrain. “It’s like someone took care of her while she was missing,” said her overjoyed mother.

Keep Writing!!

 

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in #BlogFlash2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 24 Blog Flash 2012 In the Woods

  1. What an intriguing story, Joy! She didn’t come to any harm, yet no one will admit to caring for her. I wonder why! Too scared of the assumptions people will make?

  2. Joy Keeney says:

    That clip is a newspaper article(fake) the main character in the story finds. The beginning of the story would shed more light on it 🙂 perhaps I’ll share more if any of the last prompts allow.

Leave a Reply

