It Was a Dark and Stormy Night…

It was a dark and stormy night…Snoopy paces back and forth atop his dog house thinking. Thinking of what he was going to write next.

I know exactly how he must have felt. I find myself pacing, mostly back and forth through my own mind trying to come up with the next words to put down next on the page.

No truer words have been written.  No matter how hard Snoopy tried he got rejection slip after rejection slip…so many his trusty friend Woodstock even made him a blanket out of them. If you know anything about Snoopy he never gave up, he tried over and over again to get editors to take his stories.

 

With every rejection slip he received the more he wrote…sometimes even to the editors to tell them what he thought.

I would NOT recommend trying this at home. I think the point Charles Shultz was trying to make was not to give up. Keep writing no matter how many rejections you get. I’ve decided that I’m going to write more like Snoopy. I’m going to keep writing, ignore the rejection slips and wait for the acceptance letter instead.

I get this a lot from family and friends because it’s what I do I write. I write where ever and whenever I can. At work, at home, visiting friends or family houses oh and even critique group like I am now.  My notebook and pencil are like VISA, I don’t leave home without it. I wish there was a way to write while sleeping. It seems to be when I get my best ideas. Sometimes I wake up freaking out, not because of a bad dream but because I’m hoping to remember what it is I want to write down while fumbling for paper and pencil.

Keep Writing!!

written for WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in DP Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Was a Dark and Stormy Night…

  1. I love the way you brought Snoopy into this post and I agree about the lesson/moral of the story – don’t give up. I still have hopes of landing an agent and getting picked up by a publishing house, but in the meantime I’m going to get my work out there into the big wide world. In some ways I think it helps a little these days if you self-pub – it shows a potential agent you’re not afraid to muck in and do marketing to increase sales etc.
    Great post, Joy!! 😀

  2. You are so clever, Joy. And it shows in your writing. See you Thursday?

Leave a Reply

