Another Guest Post ~~ Carlie M.A. Cullen

Thank you for stopping by to check out my last post on the Heart Search-Lost Blog Tour. I enjoyed having Carlie M.A. Cullen SO much earlier this month I talked her into stopping by for another writing challenge. (insert LOUD cheers here!)

Once again I got to pick the subject for the guest blog…I had to think twice as hard this time since she knocked the last one out of the park. I wanted it to be fun yet still a wee bit of a challenge for her. This is what I came up with…

I told her to write a 200-300 word BlogFlash story using ALL of the following words: Fantasy, search, heart, immortals, joy and poptarts.

Carlie being an amazing on the fly writer came up with the following…
Anna sat, munching through her lunch of strawberry poptarts. Excitement consumed her; she’d heard rumours about a magical place in the nearby woods and now she was going to search for it. Finishing her lunch, she grabbed her knapsack and set off.
Her mum thought it was nothing but fantasy stories created by the locals yet Anna believed and was determined to prove her mother wrong. She knew the woods well, but there was one area she’d been warned never to go. She headed straight for it.
After an hour she reached the boundary of the ‘forbidden’ section; her heart pounded in anticipation. She wandered through the primordial trees, eyes scanning the space for clues. Then she spotted bark with a strange carving on. As she moved toward it Anna noticed more peculiar markings.
She continued until she was in the centre of all the carvings – she’d found it and was filled with joy. She turned slowly in a circle and on completing the turn, felt rumbling beneath her feet. A woman materialized in front of her.
The woman was beautiful; light bronze skin, warm brown hair cascading down her back and clothes like gossamer leaves in various shades of green. “Hello Anna, You’ve found me as was your destiny.” Her voice like beautiful birdsong warbled in Anna’s ears.
“Who are you and how do you know my name?” Anna asked awestruck.
“My name is Willow. I’m a wood nymph, one of the immortals and guardian of these woods. I’ve been waiting for you. Take my hand – I’ve wondrous things to show you.” Without knowing why, Anna trusted Willow and took her hand.
All that remained on the mossy, leaf-strewn carpet between the trees was a knapsack.

Great job Carlie I should have known you would nail it once again.  There is just no stumping you. I’m so glad I have been able to take part in the launch of your first novel Heart Search-Lost.  I can’t wait until book two comes out!!

 

Carlie M A Cullen was born in London. She grew up in Hertfordshire where she first discovered her love of books and writing. She has been an administrator and marketer all her working life and is also a professional teacher of Ballroom and Latin American dancing.

Carlie has always written in some form or another, but Heart Search: Lost is her first novel. This is being launched 8th October 2012 through Myrddin Publishing Group and work has started on book two: Heart Search: Found. She writes mainly in the Fantasy/Paranormal Romance genres for YA, New Adult and Adult.

Carlie is also a professional editor.  Carlie also holds the reins of a writing group called Writebulb. Their first anthology was published September 2012.

Carlie currently lives in Essex, UK with her daughter.

 

Pick up your copy of Heart Search- Lost…it’s getting great reviews!!

Amazon US http://amzn.to/OLwU59

Amazon UK http://amzn.to/PhC0Gu

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in Heart Search- blog tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

