1st Short Story Published…Thank you Lou Turner and High Hill Press

Back at the beginning of July I blogged about my newly found critique friends…AKA the Critique Girls. I’m happy to report that we’ve been meeting weekly for about six months and not only have we become better writers we’re also great friends as well as support team. We write…read…edit and repeat until our stories are ready to send out into the world.

In the very beginning they told me about a contest sponsored by High Hill Press Publishing in connection to the release of Pamela Foster’s newest book Bigfoot Blues. The goal was to write a Bigfoot short story in 3,000 words or less. The editors were looking for stories to fill their anthology Bigfoot Confidential The Truth Revealed that was set to come out in October. So we each created our own tale of the elusive Sasquatch. Then came the editing them over and over until each was ready to submit…uggggh (editing has to be the worst part of this whole writing gig!) We each sent our stories in, crossed our fingers and waited…and waited. Just so you know this kind of waiting rates right up there with waiting for Christmas morning.  Let’s just say waiting is something we will have to work on.
Then one day a few months later it started to happen…one by one each of us received notification from Lou Turner that our Bigfoot stories had been chosen to appear in Bigfoot Confidential anthology. (insert the official Happy Dance here). A couple of weeks later while attending the Ozark Creative Writers 45th Annual Convention in Eureka Springs, Ar. my co-Critique Girls picked up their copies of the anthology and Lou was kind enough to send my copy back with them since I wasn’t able to attend this year. (THANKS LOU!!)

The anthology, Bigfoot Confidential The Truth Revealed is packed full of terrific Bigfoot stories by some great writers, several from right here in NW Arkansas. I never imagined my first published short story would be about Bigfoot. But every time I open the book…there it is right there with my dear friends Rhonda Harvey and Staci Troilo. Congratulations girls!!!  NEXT…

If you’d like to check out the anthology for yourself you can order it on High Hill Press‘s website.

Thanks again Lou Turner and High Hill Press!!

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in Published and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1st Short Story Published…Thank you Lou Turner and High Hill Press

  1. WOOHOO!!!!! Fantastic news, Joy. Congratulations! I’m soooo pleased for you! *throws streamers* 😀

  2. Hey Joy. We all knew it was just a matter of time, and a very little time too, before you’d be published. This is a terrific anthology. And fun, too. You’re off to a fantastic start and I can’t wait to read more and more of the worlds you create.

    • Joy Keeney says:

      Thank you Pam for the words of encouragement! It is a terrific anthology…never imagined I would write a Bigfoot story…so glad now I did! Looking forward to checking out Bigfoot Blues. 🙂

  3. WOW!!!! Congrats to you!!! So proud !!!

  4. Staci Troilo says:

    Nice blog, Joy. Again, congratulations on your story getting published in the anthology. I know it’s just the first of many good things to come.

    • Joy Keeney says:

      Thank you Staci! If it hadn’t been for you and Rhonda I wouldn’t have written the story to begin with. Congratulations to you too!! Nice to see all of us in the same anthology 🙂

  5. Congratulations Joy! It’s only the first of many. I have faith in you. You have so much talent just bursting to find a line on an empty page. Great writing my friend.

    • Joy Keeney says:

      Thank you Rhonda! Without you and Staci Legend of Dark Mountain would have never happened. Congratulations to you as well! Bigfoot anthology…check….westerns here we come!

  6. Hey Joy. Congratulations. The story is terrific. I’m delighted you submitted it. Thanks.

  7. Joy Keeneyy says:

    Thank you Pam! I’m glad you liked my story…I actual enjoyed writing it more than I thought I would. I really enjoyed your entry as well and can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of Bigfoot Blues.

Leave a Reply

