Happy New Year

1356249511Happy New Year…is it really 2012 2013 already? Didn’t we just get finished ringing in 2012?  I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season and are settling into the new year.

As for me I think things are finally slowing down a little bit (knocking on wood!) I’ve finally gone back to working 5 days a week instead of the 6 days I’ve been working for the past few months…in fact this will be my 1st two day weekend in a loooong time. My plans? Sleep late and write all day!!  My writing took the passenger seat for a while, I tried to keep up with it but with a hectic work schedule, the holidays, my step dad in the hospital(he’s home and doing better now!!) and other chunks of life’s drama,I found it nearly impossible to steal enough quality time with my thoughts and paper to get anything written. I did get a few bits and pieces scribbled down for a couple of the short stories I’ve been working on, as well as a few new ideas jotted down…if I could only remember where I put the notes…LoL.

I did set down New Year’s Eve and jot down a few goals not resolutions for 2013.  In 2012 I had my very first short story published as well as an extremely short 4 line story accepted to be published later this month. I decided I liked the feeling of that so much that I’m shooting at writing 5 new short stories every three months and to get 5 of them published by the end of the year. I’ve also got a couple of the short stories I’d like to take and make them into novels…no deadline on them, just work on them.

WritingRight now I’ve got 3 short stories at various stages I’m working on. I’ve got a couple articles I’m working on for a local online magazine relaunch issue(more on that later). I’ve got 3 writing classes that I’m attending with my writing buddies Rhonda Lee and Staci Troilo. Oh and I’m going to really work on blogging more often…I think my poor blog thought I’d forgotten about him. So with that I’m going to get back to work…there is a short story laying here on my desk begging for some attention…it’s giving me those sad puppy dog eyes even. How could I refuse that cute little face?  Happy writing!!

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Happy New Year, Joy! I wish you every success with your writing goals in 2013!
    Carlie x

  2. Joy Keeney says:

    Thank you Carlie! How’s Heart Search book 2 coming along?

  3. Staci Troilo says:

    I was so excited to hear you’d be writing more, and then I saw on FB that you got called in to work. =(. Oh well, no work for you tomorrow… you’ve got plans. Happy New Year, Joy. Can’t wait to see how all your stories turn out.

Leave a Reply

