BlogFlash2013 Day 12 Music

BlogFlash2013 Day 12 Music

For me writing and music go hand and hand. When I set down to write I have my notebook, pencil and my iPod. Music helps block out the happenings of the world around me while soothing the characters struggling to be heard. I prefer to listen to classical music when I’m writing so that I can remain focused on the story and not the song lyrics, otherwise the characters get confused and sometimes unruly. With Bach, Chopin and Beethoven playing they are able to relax and get wrapped up in the music and waltz their way into the scene I’m writing.

“Music is … A higher revelation than all Wisdom & Philosophy”
― Ludwig van Beethoven

“Music is the universal language of mankind.”
― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

BlogFlash2013

 

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in #BlogFlash2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to BlogFlash2013 Day 12 Music

  1. There’s nothing better to block out the world when writing than music!

  2. I love all the classical too. Great line up. Fun Blog Joy. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Music is okay sometimes for me when I am brainstorming. I usually prefer the quiet or the music of nature!

  4. I really like classical, but I’ve gotten used to writing with lyrical music. It just fades away once I’m sunk into the characters.

  5. Music is my best friend when I’m writing.

    I cannot write in silence. Far too many distractions and noises.

  6. As always, beautiful quotes! Classical music is always a wonderful pick for something inspiring but not too distracting!

  7. Music is so powerful for writing but can change your mood and characters so like you say, it’s important to find the right piece of music that will help concentration but not enter the story. The Twilight author Stephanie Meyer listened to a lot of Muse as she wrote; can’t you tell. . but it works. xx

Leave a Reply

