Blog Challenge January 2014

January Blog Picture

Happy New Year!! Instead of writing my normal resolution this year I put together writing goals for 2014. I sat down with a fellow writer and we compiled a list of 14 things we want to accomplish in our writing careers before 2015 arrives.

The List:
1. Finish a novel before 2015
2. Learn to write a query letter and a synopsis- for when the novel is done
3. Learn how to outline a novel
4. Find out who I am as a writer- what exactly is it that I write…what genre
5. Write a weekly ok let’s say monthly blog- 50-200 words on a picture we’ve picked out.
6. Re-write my bio- Both a 50 word and a 100 word
7. Get organized & have a clean writing space
8. Manage my time better- less day dreaming…more writing!
9. Find a meeting place for our writing group
10. Write 5 new short stories – any subject-must be NEW ideas 2,000-6,000 words
11. Read 1 book per month – unread ones stacked and waiting!
12. Enter 2 writing contests- can use any story
13. Believe in myself as a writer- OMG this one is tough… doubting is easier.
14. Attend a writing class, workshop or conference.
Looking over the list I wonder…WHAT THE HECK WERE WE THINKING?
So that’s what we came up with…now to get busy and start doing.

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in #Blog Challenge 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blog Challenge January 2014

  1. Excellent plan, Joy. I didn’t see attend a weekly critique group on that list though.

  2. Staci Troilo says:

    It’s great to see you setting goals–attainable goals. That’s half the battle. Now sticking to them? I know you can do it. Looking forward to hearing all about the progress you make. Best wishes!

  3. Joy Keeney says:

    Thanks Staci! I have a feeling that setting the goals was also the easy half of the battle 🙂 With a little help from my fellow writer peeps I think I will be able to stick to it though. Please feel free to crack the whip if you see me slacking.

  4. I’m so far behind I just read this! I read your April post, and saw the Blog Challenge at the top, so I clicked over to see what it was about. (Loved the story start, by the way!) Now I’ve copied your list and with a few changes, I’m using it as mine. The only NYR I made was to post 2x per month. Happens sometime, but at least I’m getting one a month in. Good luck with your/our challenge. I have lots of good ideas for my blog but no time to do it. Sometimes a challenge forces me. Thanks.

    • Joy Keeney says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I had originally planned to do a weekly blog but had so much going on I decided once a month was more doable. Keep me updated on how you’re doing with the challenge! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

