Blog Challenge 2014…Oct, Nov & Dec

Yes, I’m aware that I’m way behind on my blogs for 2014, in fact I’m so behind it’s kind of silly to be posting now. But, I’m going to do it anyway. I’ve had October and November written but I haven’t posted them. Life has been throwing me a few curve balls that I thought I had a handle on but in the end they had a handle on me. So, I failed to get them posted as planned. Now….on to my posts.

October 4241213cd489cf5092b77724c62549d5I crept across the cold hardwood floors, wishing I had bothered to put on my slippers. Instead, I pulled my fuzzy yellow robe tighter around me and glanced back at Lizzie who motioned me on from the corner where she stood guard. “Go on!” she hissed. I held my finger to my lips to silently shush her. The last thing I wanted was for Grams to catch me sneaking into the forbidden room at the end of the hall. Didn’t she know telling an eight year old to stay out only made them want to go see in more? What could be in there? Why was it the only room in the house that was off limits? My heart pounded so hard I was afraid Grams would hear it. I turned back to Lizzie for reassurance only to find her no longer at her post. Frantically I searched the darkness. That’s when I saw it. The light beaming out of the key hole at the end of the hall.

November

ab327c23b316704bbb994df0abef0d5f

November brought a time of mending and of truly being thankful for those in my life. After loosing my step father in October the family faced going through the holidays without him. How could it be possible to celebrate when our hearts were still heavy? I discovered that it’s done with the love and support of others. Family and friends lending a hand when I needed a pick me up. A shoulder to cry on when the loss seemed more than I could bear. I learned who I could count on and who I could not. I’m thank God each and every day for those that have been there throughout this difficult time.

December

bba39bba608035ef69497c83d9c34e23Looking back at 2014 I see a long list of goals I set to accomplish before 2015 arrived. Was I able to check each and every one off the list? HA!! Not even close. Does this mean I failed? Yes, because the list wasn’t completed. But what was I thinking when I set such large goals….and 14 of them to boot? So, I didn’t really fail since I did try to make my way through each of them. I also learned an important lesson….it’s impossible to accomplish an insane list of goals while working full-time, attending college full-time and deal with normal day to day life with a few speed bumps thrown in. So, as I get ready to say goodbye to 2014 and welcome 2015 I’m working on a much more realistic list of goals.   Happy New Year’s everyone!!

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in #Blog Challenge 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

