Interview with Heart Search trilogy author Carlie M.A. Cullen

cover 2 cropped I’ve once again had the pleasure of sitting down and catching up with author of the Heart Search Trilogy Carlie M.A. Cullen. She’s just released the final book of the series Heart Search book 3 Betrayal.

Hi Joy! It’s great to be here with you today. Please be gentle with the questions – I’m suffering from jet lag 

Thank you for taking time from promoting Heart Search- Betrayal. It’s good to see you again!

How does it feel to have finished the final book of the Heart Search series? I’ve got mixed feelings really. I’m excited and proud of what I’ve achieved, but saying goodbye to the characters is actually quite emotional. They’ve lived in my head for so long now that they’ve become like part of the family in a way and walking away from them is like a bereavement. So really I guess it’s a mixture of sadness and elation.
Give us a look at this story …without giving it away of course. We want people to read to find out for themselves. Well, for those who read book two: Found, you’ll know there was something a bit dodgy going on at the end. Betrayal picks up where Found left off. There is a traitor in the manor who is giving information to someone with a massive grudge against those who inhabit Clavemont Hall. Someone from the house goes missing and a massive search ensues which endangers some of them. Remy discovers her gift and it’s a rather unusual one. Jakki’s predictions become scarily accurate and the covens learn to trust what she says without question. Liam’s coven attacks both houses, but although the covens are prepared, the sheer number begins to overwhelm them and there are unbelievable losses. Who will survive and will the traitor be unmasked?

What has been the overall response of readers? I’ve received some great reviews for both books. Readers like the originality of the storyline and unique delivery. They seem to love the characters, although a number of them have taken to either Remy or Joshua more because of their stories. Overall, it’s been very positive and I’m hoping everyone thinks I’ve given them a great book to finish the trilogy with.

Do you have a favorite book in the series? If so, which one and why?  Now that’s a hard one, Joy. I love all three of them for different reasons, but I can’t honestly say I have a favourite.

What did you learn from writing the series? I learned that I have the ability to write more than a single book and it’s given me much more confidence. It gave me the ability to hone my writing skills and how to pace the story. I also learned a great deal about characterization and how important it is to make your characters realistic and repeatable.

Which character do you relate to best? Why?  I think I relate to Remy best. She goes from being extremely happy to broken-hearted and almost rock bottom and she emerges a great deal stronger. She finds an inner strength she didn’t know she possessed and I think she finds herself along the way. I’ve been in a similar situation and made a journey where I became stronger and more resilient as a result.

Will any of the Heart Search characters be appearing in future works? There are no concrete plans at the moment, although it has been suggested that I consider writing a novella from Ashley and Aidan’s perspective, picking up from the age they are at the end of Betrayal and moving forward as they grow up. I’m considering it, but I have more solid plans for other books at the moment.

If you had a super power what would it be? Hmm, there are so many awesome ones to choose from. I think maybe teleportation might be a great one to have. Just think of where you could go and it wouldn’t cost a penny. No more expensive flights. It would be fantastic to be able to visit my many friends around the world without having to save up to pay for flights.

Why do you write? I love it! I’ve written from a young age and it gives me a creative outlet. I enjoy the escapism, creating different worlds, getting to know my characters, and plotting the story arcs. I love the genres I write in as they afford me such a huge scope in which I can let my imagination run riot. I can’t imagine my life without writing.

What is your favorite motivational quote for writers? I actually have two: ‘The unread story is not a story; it is little black marks on wood pulp. The reader, reading it, makes it live: a live thing, a story.’ By Ursula K. Le Guin, and ‘If you can tell stories, create characters, devise incidents, and have sincerity and passion, it doesn’t matter a damn how you write.” By Somerset Maugham.

Are you a plotter or pantster? Definitely a pantser! I tried plotting Heart Search: Lost and ended up throwing away my outline around chapter five and I’ve never plotted since.

Describe your writing style in 10 words or less. Intimate characterization, quite descriptive, with twisting plots.

What would you say the hardest part of writing a book is? Making sure you allocate time every day to write and not to allow yourself any distractions.

How do you keep the reader’s attention? I think it’s an overall package of creating characters readers can relate to and invest in, a good storyline, and a few twists and turns they don’t see coming.

Was there ever a point when you didn’t think you’d be able to write all three books?  Actually, no there wasn’t. My characters had taken up residence in my head and they took me on their journey. I was really the conduit who wrote it all down – well that’s how it feels in a way.

How can readers find out more about you?  They can visit my website at http://carliemacullen.com or my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/CarlieMACullen I’m also on Amazon, Goodreads, Linkedin, and Twitter.

What are your plans now that this trilogy has ended? I’ve started writing my next book; it’s a standalone fantasy and I’ve written about 80,000 words of the first draft. After that I’m planning a seven-book fantasy series.

Thank you so much for inviting me here today, Joy. It’s been great chatting to you.

Thank you Carlie. I’m going to get back to reading Heart Search- Betrayal…I have to see what happens!!

hs-trilogy-new

Available on Amazon::  http://hyperurl.co/HeartSearch-Betrayal
Publisher: Myrddin Publishing

Please feel free to leave a comment for Carlie ~she’d love to hear from you~

Check out Carlie’s website:    http://carliemacullen.com

Follow Carlie on Twitter:   http://twitter.com/carlie2011c

Stay tuned…more to come.

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in Heart Search- blog tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Heart Search trilogy author Carlie M.A. Cullen

  1. Pingback: Heart Search Betrayal Blog Tour – Day 3 | Carlie M A Cullen

Leave a Reply

