Blog Challenge-March 2015

life_will_always-40683Yes, I know I’m way late with my March blog and have now missed my April blog…but I’ve been less than eager to write anything let alone a blog. Just as I was getting over the loss of my step dad in early October I was dealt a sucker punch. My long time best friend died of a stroke in early December. The news rocked me to the core…I had just talked to her a few days earlier. I couldn’t fathom her really being gone. I held her son and her mother trying to comfort them and find a bit of comfort for myself. I had trouble looking into the eyes of her young grandsons who were going to grow up without knowing how truly amazing she was. I know God had a greater plan for her but I still couldn’t grasp she was gone. There were many times I’d think of something and reach for the phone to call her….then remember…she’s not going to answer.  I couldn’t sleep, I went about my life for months in a fog, trying to make sense of it all, worst of all feeling like I had failed her somehow as a friend. Writing was the furthest thing from my mind…if it wasn’t something for school I wasn’t writing it. That is until that nagging little voice started screaming for me to pick myself up and get my head back into it. It said that I need my writing and my characters need me writing. Then one day it hit…a story idea. Not just any story idea…her story…our story. It’s hard to explain and proving even harder to write. But, it’s the story she wants me to write and the story that I’m going to write. Hopefully be able to share bits of it soon… until then I’ve got to get back to living and writing.  Missing you E.

About Joy Keeney

I love the feeling I get when I put my pencil to the paper to write. I love the sound of the lead as it glides from the tip of the pencil onto the paper below. I'm scared to death of failure....also have a fear of actually succeeding. What a combo....I'm working on them both. I will only fail if I STOP writing! It's okay for me to write something that others will like. I've started to enjoy waiting for the reaction of the person reading my work. If they get goose bumps or reach for a tissue I know I'm on the right track!
This entry was posted in #BlogChallenge2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

